Seven Wildcat standouts grab post-season football honors

POPLARVILLE --- Seven Pearl River Community College football standouts have received post-season accolades for the 2013 season.
Freshman Charles Ducksworth out of Mize High headlines the list as he was selected All-Region 23 and All-MACJC South Division first team as a kick returner, while freshman offensive lineman Cyrus Ekugwam out of Forest Hill High in Jackson, defensive back Ty Northern of Rosa Fort High, linebacker Demarius Rancifer out of Catholic High in Pensacola, Fla., and defensive lineman Dalvon Stuckey out of Walton High in Defuniak Springs, Fla., all earned All-South first-team honors. Northern, Rancifer, and Stuckey are sophomores.
Freshman running back Darrell Robinson of Noxubee County High and sophomore defensive end Darrius Caldwell out of Mays High in Atlanta, Ga., earned All-South second-team honors.
Ducksworth averaged 44.4 yards on six kickoff returns during the season, including a 98-yarder for a touchdown against Copiah-Lincoln Oct. 12 in Wesson. He also boasted keen pass-catching skills with 13 receptions for 178 yards and a TD.
Rancifer, a University of Kentucky transfer, finished the season as the Wildcats No. 1 tackler with  81 stops, including six tackles for loss, two pass break ups, for quarterback pressures, and a sack; while Northern, a transfer from Northwest Mississippi CC, was the team’s No. 2 tackler with 61 stops (43 solo, 16 assists), six TFLs, and 4 PBUs.
Stuckey, a University of Miami commitment, had 25 tackles for the year, three TFLs, and two sacks. Caldwell finished the year with 18 stops, a team-high seven TFLs, four pressures, and a PBU.
Robinson rushed for a team-high 706 yards on 153 carries for an average of 78.44 yards a game and six touchdowns. In addition, he boasted two receiving TDs on his 10 catches for 119 yards.
Here is a listing of all Region 23 and MACJC post-season football honorees (alphabetically by school) for the 2013 season:
COAHOMA: OL Sylvester Twones
COPIAH-LINCOLN: WR Casey Gladney, OL Xavier Dampeer
EAST MISSISSIPPI: WR C.J. Bates, OL Avery Gennesy, QB Dontreal Pruitt
HINDS: PK J.D. Houston, OL Norman Price
HOLMES: P Matthew Spencer
JONES COUNTY: WR Jamichael Willis
MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: OL Craig Frigo, RB Antwan Wells, WR Dhaquille Williams
PEARL RIVER: KR Charles Ducksworth
REGION 23 MVP: East Mississippi’s Dontreal Pruitt
REGION 23 COACH OF THE YEAR: East Mississippi’s Buddy Stephens
First-Team Offense
COPIAH-LINCOLN: OL Xavier Dampeer, QB Daniel Fitzwater, WR Casey Gladney, TE Tyson McDonald
HINDS: PK J.D. Houston, OL Norman Price
JONES COUNTY: OL Jalen Beavers, P Grant McLaurin, WR Jamichael Willis
MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: OL Craig Frigo, RB Antwan Wells, WR Dhaquille Williams
PEARL RIVER: KR Charles Ducksworth, OL Cyrus Ekugwam
MVP-BACK: Copiah-Lincoln’s Casey Gladney
MVP-LINEMAN: Copiah-Lincoln’s Xavier Dampeer
MACJC COACH OF THE YEAR: Jones County’s Ray Perkins
Second-Team Offense
COPIAH-LINCOLN: OL David Adams, KR Casey Gladney
HINDS: OL Thomas Collins, WR Robert Lockhart, WR Keithon Redding, OL Kirby Watson
JONES COUNTY: OL James Anthony, WR Quartez Cooks, PK Grant McLaurin, QB Steven Swindle
MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: P Kevin Phillips, TE Marlon Pope, OL John Steube,
PEARL RIVER: RB Darrell Robinson
First-Team Defense
COPIAH-LINCOLN: DL Jonathan Calvin, LB Jordan Harris, DB Kalen Jackson, DL Demond Tucker
HINDS: DB Kenya Dennis
JONES COUNTY: DL Steven Eddings
MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: DB Josh Keys, LB Cavellis Luckett
PEARL RIVER: DB Ty Northern, LB Demarius Rancifer, DL Dalvon Stuckey
MVP-BACK: Hinds’ Kenya Dennis
MVP-LINEMAN: Copiah-Lincoln’s Demond Tucker
Second-Team Defense
HINDS: LB Herbert Harris, DL Michael Ross
JONES COUNTY: DL Jamarcus Blanks, DB D’Andre Jackson, DB Victor Jenkins, LB Jamal Lucas
MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST: DB Justin Evans, LB Trey Wafford
PEARL RIVER: DL Darrius Caldwell
First-Team Offense
COAHOMA: OL Sylvester Townes
EAST MISSISSIPPI: WR Antoine Adkins, WR-KR C.J. Bates, OL Avery Gennesy, QB Dontreal Pruitt, PK Drew White
HOLMES: P Matthew Spencer
ITAWAMBA: WR Archie Denard, OL Tony Holmes, OL Brandon Jones
NORTHEAST MISSISSIPPI: RB Mitchell Cunningham, OL Kortelious Ellis
MVP-BACK: East Mississippi’s Dontreal Pruitt
MVP-LINEMAN: East Mississippi’s Avery Gennesy
MACJC COACH OF THE YEAR: East Mississippi’s Buddy Stephens
Second-Team Offense
COAHOMA: P Cody Spears
EAST MISSISSIPPI: OL Wiley Maddox, RB Lakendric Thomas
HOLMES: OL Talbot Buys, WR Darreal Joyner, OL Stuart Shaw
ITAWAMBA: KR A.J. Hunt, WR Janardrean Jones, QB Grif Loftis
MISSISSIPPI DELTA: OL Josh Cooper, WR Christian Stephney
NORTHEAST MISSISSIPPI: PK Chris Cooper, WR Khilell Stinson
First-Team Defense
EAST MISSISSIPPI: DL Jimmie Gipson III, DL D.J. Jones, DL D.J. Pettway, DL Jarran Reed, LB Christon Russell, DB Allen Sentimore, DB A.J. Stamps
HOLMES: LB Traver Jung, DB Tee Shepard
ITAWAMBA: LB C.J. Jackson, DB Darius White
MVP-BACK: East Mississippi’s Christon Russell
MVP-LINEMAN: East Mississippi’s Jimmie Gipson III
Second-Team Defense
COAHOMA: DL Keeland McElrath
HOLMES: DB Kris Givens, DL Richard Mitchell
ITAWAMBA: DL Cameron Wiggins
MISSISSIPPI DELTA: DB Jalen Jones, DB Montavious Moore, LB Terrell Williams
NORTHEAST MISSISSIPPI: LB Jamell Dennis, LB Marcus Robinson, DL Daniel Ross, DB DeQuinton Spraggins

Blog Type: