State Championships


Although soccer at Pearl River first began in 1999, Pearl River soccer teams have consistently been ones to reckon with. In 2004, the Pearl River College Wildcat Soccer Team won its first state title, then in 2005, the Lady Wildcats took their first state championship.

In 2009, the PRCC women won their second state title, beating Mississippi Gulf Coast 1-0 in the title game. The only score of the game was by Hilary Gifford of Ocean Springs with 5:24 to play in the first half, on an assist from Ana Lee of Picayune High.

PRCC finished the season with a 17-1-1 record. Its only loss came in the region playoffs.


Pearl River College has taken state titles 2 in the college's history. The first state championship was 1939. In 2003, although the team did not win the state championship, it did win regionals and was a contender in the 2003 Junior College World Series. In 2004, the Wildcats took the state championship. PRCC made junior college history that year by winning four state championships in the four major men's sports, baseball, basketball, football, and soccer.

Men's Basketball

Pearl River College Men's Basketball has been nearly as prolific in the state championship contests as have the football teams. Winning for the first time in 1927, the team won again in 1931, 1935, 1945, 1947, 1958, 1960, 1965, 1995, 1998, 2003, 2004, for a total of 11 state championships.

Women's Basketball

Although the research is not completed, the only known women's basketball team to win the state championship occurred in 1994. Several region titles have gone to the Lady 'Cats, in 1995 and 2003.


Pearl River College Football has taken the state championship more times than any other team in Mississippi. With a total of 18 state championships and co-championships, PRCC football teams won in: 1925, 1926, 1928, 1949, 1952, 1953, 1956, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1969, 1970, 1976, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006. Although there is controversy around the 1927 and 1929 state championships, Pearl River still holds 18 unchallenged state titles. (Pearl River beat Perkinston in 1927, but the trophy was awarded to Perk. We don't know the history concerning this decision. Again, in 1929 PRJC and Co-Lin were to play the state championship. The game was called in the 3rd quarter due to darkness, but Co-Lin did not elect to a rematch to decide the state championship and by default, the game should have gone to PRJC, however, the state decided, after persuasion from Co-Lin, to declare "no championship winner" for that year.) The Wildcats also have two national titles to their credit, the first, under head coach Dobie Holden in 1961, and the second under head coach Tim Hatten in 2005.


Pearl River saw a stellar year in 1995 when they won the state championship and the region championship. They have since one two other region titles.