All Locations

All Locations

Home Builders fund scholarship

January 27, 2016 - 2:50pm -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Members of the Pearl River County Home Builders Association visited Pearl River Community College Wednesday, Jan. 27, to renew the organization’s support of career and technical programs.
  The association presented PRCC with $2,650 to be used for a full-tuition, one-year scholarship for a student in a program related to home building and construction.

Office of Student Success Recognized

January 26, 2016 - 10:30am -- admin

Pearl River Community College’s Office of Student Success was recently recognized by the Public Relations Association of Mississippi-Pine Belt Chapter at its January meeting. PRCC received a Certificate of Achievement in Campaign (under $5,000) for its Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) for the college. Pictured from left are: Delana Harris, director of recruitment and marketing; Trevor Hunt, instructor of music and member of the QEP marketing team; and Dr. Amy Townsend, director of the office of student services/director of the QEP. 

Sumrall named Counselor of the Year

January 26, 2016 - 8:48am -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - A Pearl River Community College academic counselor has received a top award in her field.
  Christina Sumall of Poplarville was named College Counselor of the Year by the Mississippi Counseling Association. She received the award in November during the association’s convention in Biloxi.
  Sumrall received the Pine Belt Counseling Association’s College Counselor of the Year Award during the group’s fall meeting. That award made her a nominee for the state honor.

Dickie Scruggs visits PRCC

January 21, 2016 - 11:08am -- admin

Terri Clark, Director of Adult Education at Pearl River Community College, believes that Dickie Scruggs’ influence can have a positive effect on students as they pursue their GED education in Mississippi.

"With Mr. Scruggs being the advocate this will bring so much community awareness to what we are doing at Pearl River, adult education, GED prep, and workforce readiness training," said Clark.

Spring registration extended

January 13, 2016 - 1:28pm -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Registration for the spring semester at Pearl River Community College has been extended through 4 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 20.
  The extension applies to traditional classes for the whole term and first term, second-term eight-week and four-week classes and weekend classes at the Poplarville, Forrest County Center and Hancock Center campuses.
  Registration for whole term and first-term eight-week on-line classes ends at 4 p.m. Friday, Jan. 15

Outgoing president recognized

January 13, 2016 - 11:05am -- jbraswell

Pearl River Community College President Dr. William Lewis, right, presented Dale Purvis a plaque in December commemorating Purvis's two years as chairman of the PRCC Board of Trustees. Alan Lumpkin, Pearl River County superintendent, will serve as chairman through 2018 with Hancock County superintendent Alan Dedeaux as vice chairman and Sonny Knight, representing Pearl River County, as secretary.
PRCC Public Relations photo

New members join Board of Trustees

January 13, 2016 - 10:52am -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Two alumni from Marion County joined the Pearl River Community College Board of Trustees Tuesday, Jan. 12.
  Wendy Bracey serves on the board by virtue of her position as superintendent of Marion County schools. She succeeds Craig Robbins.
  Donnie Williamson was appointed by the Marion County Board of Supervisors after long-time board member Al Brooks retired in December.

Fall Dean's List released

January 7, 2016 - 9:06am -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - Pearl River Community College has released the Dean’s List for the fall 2015 semester. Students must maintain a grade point average of 3.4 or higher to be named to the list.
  They are listed by hometowns:Bassfield - Jasmine N. Adams, Vickie Lynn Martin-Harper.
  Bay Springs - Madison Nichole Scoggin.

President's List for fall semester released

January 5, 2016 - 11:25am -- jbraswell

  POPLARVILLE - The Pearl River Community College President’s List for the fall 2015 semester has been released.
  Students must maintain a 4.0 average to be named to the President’s List. They are listed by hometowns:
  Aberdeen - Berkley Warnick.
  Bassfield - Courtney D. Echols.
  Bay St. Louis - Kevin R. Bounds, Hailey N. Furlan, Zachary G. Lafontaine.
  Beaumont - Herbert Clay McDonald.
  Brookhaven - Julie Caroline Laird.
  Brooklyn - Madison B. Ryals.


Subscribe to RSS - All Locations